ASA Midwest Tour Preliminaries Underway at Oktoberfest

By: Kevin Ramsell
Saturday, October 06, 2007 (West Salem, WI) – An unusual warm October Saturday shined down on nearly 70 competitors are on hand to make the final ASA Midwest Tour event of the 2007 season at the 38th Annual Oktoberfest Race Weekend at La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway. The stars of the ASAMT had their qualifying and qualifying races in preparation for the 100-lap feature on Sunday.

There were four 12-lap qualifying races with the winner of each gaining a starting spot for the main event.

Kris Kelly held off Jesse Saunders to win the first qualifying race and earn a spot into the 100-lap feature on Sunday. Don Turner was third with Jonathan Eilen in fourth. AJ Rhoads rounded out the top five.

Neil Knobloch easily won the second qualifying race with Chris Wimmer holding off Brian Johnson Jr. for second. Mark Eswein was fourth and Andy Hanson rounded out the top five.

Kenny Richards got pass Kyle Calmes halfway through the third 12-lap qualifying heat to earn his spot into the main event. Blake Horstman would work his way past Calmes for second. Calmes would hold off Kevin Nuttleman for third. Eric Fransen was fifth.

Frank Kreyer earned a spot in the main event by holding off Dick Trickle to win the final qualifying event. Trickle led early which brought the crowd to its feet. Rob Vanderloop was third with Russ Blakely in fourth. Jeff Storm was fifth.

The top 16 also completed in two 12-lap qualifier races. These races were important for Nate Haseleu and Donny Reuvers were looking for valuable points for the championship.

Earlier in the day, Haseleu lost four points to Reuvers in qualifying. But he was able to gain those four points back and earn two more points by winning the odd heat. Josh Vadnais was second with Mark Kraus in third. Reuvers finished fourth with Tim Schendel in fifth.

Andrew Morrissey held off Dan Lensing to win the even heat race. Donnie Iverson was third with Travis Sauter in fourth. Jeremy Lepak rounded out the top five.

Earlier in the day, Holzhausen took home the Echo Outdoor Power Equipment “Blows Away the Competition” fast-time award with a time of 19.133 seconds. A time he shared with Dan Fredrickson, but Holzhausen was given the honors as he was the first one to set the time.

Tomorrow, it will be Jeremy Lepak and Dean Cornelius leading the field to the green flag for the 100-lap feature. Haseleu, now with a 49-point lead, will need to finish at least 15th or better to clinch the 2007 championship. The racing action will get underway at Noon with crucial last chance races starting the racing action.

For more information on the ASA Kwik Trip Midwest Tour presented by Echo Outdoor Power Equipment, please visit the official website at