Night Three of Oktoberfest Racing Fills the Stands

By: Ashley Iwanski and Kevin Ramsell
Saturday, October 06, 2007 (West Salem, WI) – Loyal fans filled the stands to watch the ASA Late Model North Division, Mid American Stock Car series and the ASA Midwest Tour qualifying on the 3rd night of Oktoberfest racing, despite temperatures near 90°F.

A crowd of almost 6,000 watched Eddie Hoffman (Wheaton, Ill.) win the ASA Late Model North feature. For many the track proved too difficult evident by the 10 cautions that devoured a third of the field. Turns one and four appeared to be the most difficult and were the locations of many multi-car wrecks. The field started with 30 cars and ended with about 18.

Green flag racing was just as eventful as the cautions. Drivers were able to utilize the draft and make, what at some other tracks would be impossible passes. One of those passes being when Hoffman took the lead from rookie Nick Neville (3rd). Trent Snyder finished 10th in the feature and clenched the ASA Late Model North Championship. For more on the race visit

The Mid American Stock Car series also seemed to have trouble navigating the 5/8 mile track. Four cautions were thrown throughout the 35 lap race; all involving multiple cars. Ryan Rose found little trouble until after he had taken the checkered flag for the win. The race winner failed post race inspection. Officials reported the car to light, disqualifying Rose. Doug Brown of Savage, Minnesota finished 2nd and therefore was awarded the win.

It was also qualifying day for the ASA Midwest Tour who will be competing in a 100-lap feature on Sunday afternoon. Both Steve Holzhausen and Dan Fredrickson set the fast time of 19.133 seconds, a new track record for the ASA Midwest Tour at La Crosse. But, since Holzhausen set the fast time first, he is credited with being the fast qualifier.

A total of 63 cars tried to qualify for the main event. Those who haven’t qualified into the main event will have one more chance in last chance races prior to the running of the Oktoberfest 100 tomorrow with Jeremy Lepak and Dean Cornelius leading the field to the green flag.

Sunday is the final day of Oktoberfest racing. The ASA Midwest Tour will run their 100 lap feature along with the 50 lap LaCrosse Late Model Oktoberfest feature. The USST Trucks and Modified divisions will also be on hand for an exciting day of racing. Grandstands open at 8:30 am and racing starts at noon. For more information visit or call (608) 786-1525.


ASA Late Model North
125 Lap Feature (30 Cars) — 1, Eddie Hoffman, Wheaton, Ill.; 2, Jacob Goede, New Germany, Minn.; 3, Nick Neville, Mackinaw, Ill.; 4, Jeremy Millier, Sun Praire; 5, Jim Duchow, Appleton; 6, Tom Gille, Rockford, Ill.; 7, Mike Heiss, Ottowa, Ill.; 8, Derek Neville, Mackinaw, Ill.; 9, Jesse Smith, St. Louis, MO; 10, Trent Snyder, Ironton, Mich.; 11, Jesse Saunders, Sun Praire; 12, J. Herbst, West Salem; 13, Anthony Danta, Orlando Park, Ill.; 14, Nick Schumacher, Hartford; 15, Wes Griffith Jr., Frankfort, Ill.; 16, Troy Hintzsche, Malta, Ill.; 17, Alison Quick; 18, Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids, Iowa; 19, Eric Fransen, West Bend; 20, Peter Cozzolino, Indianapolis, IN; 21, Dan Lensing; 22, Trevor Stewart; 23, Andrew Morrissey; 24, Charlie Menard, Eau Claire; 25, Tom Fedewa; 26, Josh Wallace; 27, Travis Dassow, West Bend; 28, Kevin McCann; 29, Alex Kennedy, Aztec, NM; 30, Austin Siebert.

Qualifying — 1, Jacob Goede, 19.599 secs, 100.184 MPH; 2, Eric Fransen, 19.636 secs, 99.995 MPH; 3, Tom Gille, 19.645 secs, 99.949 MPH; 4, Jim Duchow, 19.649 secs, 99.929 MPH; 5, Eddie Hoffman, 19.683 secs, 99.756 MPH.

GM Performance Parts Shootout — 1, Charlie Menard; 2, Griffin McGrath; 3, Wes Griffith Jr.; 4, Peter Cozzolino; 5, Mike Osgar.

Mid American Stock Car
Feature (26 Cars) —1, Doug Brown, Savage, Minn.; 2, Jeremy Spoonmore, Somonauk, Minn.; 3, Lyle Nowak, Wausau; 4, Kyle Shear, Roscoe, Ill.; 5, Bill Prietzel, Richfield; 6, Rod Brewe; 7, James Swan, Genoa City; 8, Darren Wolke, Belle Plaine, Minn.; 9, Troy Shear Jr., Roscoe, Ill.; 10, Scott Null, Lake Mills; 11, Andrew Kulka, Deerfield; 12, Randy Coghlan, Toddville, Iowa; 13, Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids, Iowa; 14, Maxwell Schultz, Reedsville; 15, Nate McHale, Elko, Minn.; 16, Jake Finney, Sycamore, Ill.; 17, Kevin Lee; 18, Tom McClintock, Onalaska; 19, Mark Kissinger; 20, Justin Neisius, Eagan, Minn.; 21, Dave Obermeyer, West Bend; 22, Bobby Gutknecht, Oak Creek; 23, Kevin Damrow, Manitowoc; 24, Tim Schmitt, Muskego; 25, Johnny Senerchia, New Lenox, Ill.

Last Chance — 1, Tim Schmitt; 2, Tom McClintock; 3, Maxwell Schultz; 4, Nate McHale; 5, Travis Stanley, Prior Lake, Minn.

Qualifying — 1, Bobby Gutknecht.

Heat 1 — 1, Johnny Senerchia; 2, Randy Coghlan; 3, Kevin Lutz, Lakeville, Minn.; 4, Maxwell Schultz, Reedsville; 5, Tim Schmitt, Muskego.

Heat 2 — 1, Kevin Lee; 2, Rod Brewe; 3, Tom McClintock, Onalaska; 4, Andy Williams, Lakeville, Minn.; 5, Duane Halvorson, Rosemount, Minn.

Heat 3 — 1, Kyle Shear; 2, Doug Brown; 3, Lyle Nowak, Wausau; 4, Mark Kissinger;

Heat 4 — 1, Ryan Rose; 2, Darren Wolke; 3, Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids, Iowa; 4, Bobby Gutknecht, Oak Creek; 5, Andrew Kulka, Deerfield.

ASA Midwest Tour (Qualifying and Heats)
Qualifying — 1, Steve Holzhausen, Bangor, 19.133 secs, 102.624 MPH; 2, Dan Fredrickson, Lakeville, Minn., 19.133 secs, 102.624 MPH; 3, Mark Kraus, Stratford, 19.196 secs, 102.287 MPH; 4, Steve Carlson, West Salem, 19.221 secs, 102.154 MPH; 5, Donny Reuvers, Dundas, Minn., 19.249 secs, 102.005 MPH; 6, Jacob Goede, New Germany, Minn., 19.279 secs, 101.847 MPH; 7, Nate Haseleu, Marshall, 19.283 secs, 101.825 MPH; 8, Andrew Morrisey, DeForest, 19.296 secs, 101.757 MPH; 9, Josh Vandnais, White Bear Lake, Minn., 19.328 secs, 101.588 MPH; 10, Dan Lensing, Roscoe, Ill., 19.344 secs, 101.504 MPH; 11, Dean Cornelius, Chaska, Minn., 19.352 secs, 101.462 MPH; 12, Jeremy Lapak, Wausau, 19.369 secs, 101.373 MPH; 13, Tim Schendel, Sparta, 19.373 secs, 101.352 MPH; 14, Travis Sauter, Necedah, 19.379 secs, 101.321 MPH; 15, Jason Weinkauf, Merrill, 19.384 secs, 101.295 MPH; 16, Jamie Iverson, Escanaba, Mich., 19.386 secs, 101.284 MPH.

Heat 1 — 1, Kris Kelly; 2, Jesse Saunders, New Glarus; 3, Don Turner, La Crosse; 4, Jonathan Eilen, Hampton, Minn.; 5, AJ Rhoads.

Heat 2 — 1, Neil Knobloch; 2, Chris Wimmer, Wausau; 3, Brian Johnson Jr., Machesney Park, Ill.; 4, Mark Eswein, Wisconsin Rapids; 5, Andy Hanson, Ramsey, Minn.

Heat 3 — 1, Kenny Richards; 2, Blake Horstman, Bangor; 3, Kyle Calmes, Freedom; 4, Kevin Nuttleman, Bangor; 5, Eric Fransen.

Heat 4 — 1, Frank Kreyer; 2, Dick Trickle, Iron Station, NC; 3, Rob Vanderloop, Kaukauna; 4, Russ Blakely, Whitewater; 5, Jeff Storm, East Storm.

Odd Heat — 1, Nate Haseleu; 2, Josh Vandnais; 3, Dean Cornelius; 4, Doony Reuvers; 5, Tim Schendel.

Even Heat — 1, Andrew Morrisey; 2, Dan Lensing; 3, Jamie Iverson; 4, Travis Sauter; 5, Jeremy Lapak.