Sixty Five ‘Weekly Warriors’ Already Eligible For ‘JMCK 63’ At ‘Fest!

WEST SALEM, WI – The 2013 racing season has been one of the most competitive in recent history for Big 8-style weekly Late Model racing in our region.

The Big 8-style Late Models compete at nine different tracks throughout Minnesota, Wisconsin and Illinois. This season, fifty-six drivers at those nine different tracks have captured feature wins! All nine of those tracks have seen at least five different feature winners in 2013 while six of those nine tracks have seen at least six different feature winners.

Those top-notch ‘weekly warriors’ are among the Late Model drivers eligible for the ‘JMcK 63’, which will be held Sunday October 6th at La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway as part of the 44th Annual Oktoberfest Race Weekend . The Late Model invitational event, honoring the late short track auto racing promoter John McKarns, returns to the final day of Oktoberfest for the fourth consecutive season.

Modeled after the Dick Trickle 99 race format McKarns introduced to ‘Fest during 2007, the JMcK 63 is contested in three 21 lap segments with the first segment being lined up by draw, the second by inversion and third based on the overall point total heading into the final segment. ‘JMcK’ was an abbreviated version of John McKarns’ signature over the years.

This invitational event is open to 2013 weekly late model and Big 8 Series feature winners, former Big 8 Series Oktoberfest Champions, past ARTGO Challenge Series top guns as well as the top six in Big 8 Series points.

The first installment of the JMcK back in 2010 saw local favorite Skylar Holzhausen take the win in dramatic fashion. In 2011, Kyle Shear garnered top honors as he passed an impressive 34 cars throughout the day to come out on top. Last season, Zach Riddle capped off an unforgettable Oktoberfest Weekend, winning the JMcK one day after claiming victory in the Big 8 Series’ championship race on the half-mile oval.

For additional information regarding the 43rd annual Oktoberfest Race Weekend including camping, call 608-786-1525 or visit Companies interested in adding to the already growing number for bonuses for the JMcK 63 are encouraged to contact Gregg McKarns at 815-633-1500.

JMcK 63 Big 8 Late Model Invitational
Oktoberfest Race Weekend
Sunday Afternoon October 6, 2013
La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway
(65 Eligible Drivers as of 8/9/13)

Alex Papini- Rockford Speedway/Big 8 Series
Alex Prunty- Slinger Super Speedway
Austin Nason- Dells Raceway Park
Bobby Wilberg- 2012 JMcK Segment Winner
Brad Powell- La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway
Brady Liddle- Columbus 151 Speedway
Braison Bennett- Slinger Super Speedway
Brandon Pendleton- Jefferson Speedway
Brent Strelka- Wisconsin International Raceway
Brett Wenzel- Wisconsin International Raceway
Brian Hakala- Dells Raceway Park
Casey Johnson- Jefferson Speedway/Big 8 Series
Chris Marek- Elko Speedway
Chris Quam- Jefferson Speedway
Cole Howland- La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway
Dale Nottestad- Jefferson Speedway/Big 8 Series
Dan Church- Slinger Super Speedway
Dan Lensing- Top 6 Big 8 Points*
Darren Wolke- Elko Speedway
Dylan Moore- Elko Speedway
Dylan Schuyler- Jefferson Speedway
Gary Krueger- ARTGO Star
Gary Natrop- Wisconsin International Raceway
J Herbst- La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway
Jake Gille- Rockford Speedway
Jason Schuler- 2011 JMcK Segment Winner/ARTGO Star
Jeff Nowak- State Park Speedway
Jerry Eckhardt- Jefferson Speedway
Jerry Gille- Rockford Speedway
Jesse Bernhagen- State Park Speedway
John Beale- Columbus 151 Speedway
John Wasserburger- Columbus 151 Speedway
Jon Lemke- Elko Speedway/ARTGO Star
Jon Reynolds Jr.- Rockford Speedway
Kevin Nuttleman- Over 100 career La Crosse wins
Kyle Jarlsberg- Jefferson Speedway
Kyle Shear- 2011 JMcK Winner
Lincoln Keeser- Columbus 151 Speedway
Michael Bilderback- Slinger Super Speedway
Mike Beyer- Past Big 8 ‘Fest Winner
Mike Brooks- State Park Speedway
Mike Koeneke- La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway
Mike Litchfield- Slinger Super Speedway
Mike Meyerhofer- Wisconsin International Raceway
Nick Nolden- Dells Raceway Park
Rich Schumann Jr.- Dells Raceway Park
Ricky Bilderback- Rockford Speedway
Ron Bishofberger- Columbus 151 Speedway
Ryan DeStefano- Slinger Super Speedway
Ryan Ferrell- Slinger Super Speedway
Shane Morrissey- Dells Raceway Park
Shayne Poehnelt- Dells Raceway Park
Skylar Holzhausen- Past Big 8 ‘Fest Winner/2010 JMcK Winner
Spencer Schultz- Columbus 151 Speedway
Steve Carlson- La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway/ARTGO Star
Steve Rubeck- Rockford Speedway/Past Big 8 ‘Fest Winner
Tim Sargent- Jefferson Speedway
Tim Springstroh- Wisconsin International Raceway
Todd Handrick- State Park Speedway
Todd Korish- La Cross Fairgrounds Speedway/Past Big 8 ‘Fest Winner
Tory Adams- Columbus 151 Speedway
Travis Stanley- Elko Speedway
Ty Majeski- La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway
Wayne Mackesy- State Park Speedway
Zach Riddle- Past Big 8 ‘Fest Winner/2012 JMcK Winner

* Eligibility may change based on Big 8 Series Top 6 Points