WEST SALEM, WI – The popular ‘Big 8-style’ Late Models which compete at eleven different tracks throughout Minnesota, Wisconsin, Illinois and Iowa are once again to be featured on the final day of the 46th Oktoberfest Racing Weekend.

The top ‘weekly warriors’ in the region who have notched wins at their home tracks in 2015 will be among those who are eligible to compete for the ‘JMcK 63’, to be held Sunday October 11th at La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway on the final day of the four day celebration of short track racing. The Late Model invitational event, honoring the late short track auto racing promoter John McKarns, returns to the final day of Oktoberfest for the sixth consecutive season.

Modeled after the Dick Trickle 99 race format McKarns introduced to ‘Fest in 2007, the JMcK 63 is contested in three 21 lap segments with the first segment being lined up by draw, the second by inversion and third based on the overall point total heading into the final segment. ‘JMcK’ was an abbreviated version of John McKarns’ signature over the years.

This invitational event is open to 2015 weekly late model and Big 8 Series feature winners, former Big 8 Series Oktoberfest Champions, past ARTGO Challenge Series top guns as well as the top six in Big 8 Series points.

The first installment of the JMcK back in 2010 saw local favorite Skylar Holzhausen take the win in dramatic fashion. In 2011, Kyle Shear claimed top honors as he passed an impressive 34 cars throughout the day to capture victory. In 2012, Zach Riddle capped off an unforgettable Oktoberfest Weekend, winning the JMcK one day after finishing first in the Big 8 Series’ championship race on the half-mile oval. In 2014, Minnesota’s Chris Marek nearly became the first driver to sweep all three segments of the event on his road to victory. Last season, Minnesota youngster Michael Beamish put his name in the record books as a winner of the ‘JMcK 63.’

For additional information regarding the Oktoberfest Race Weekend including camping, call 608-786-1525 or visit

JMcK 63 Big 8 Late Model Invitational
Oktoberfest Race Weekend
Sunday Afternoon October 11, 2015
La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway
(64 Eligible Drivers as of 8/25/14)

Al Stippich- Slinger Speedway
Alex Papini- Rockford Speedway
Alex Prunty- Slinger Speedway
Austin Nason- Big 8 Series
Bobby Wilberg- 2012 JMcK Segment Winner
Brad Osborn- Hawkeye Downs
Brad Powell- LaCrosse Speedway
Braison Bennett- Wisconsin International
Brandon Pendleton- Jefferson Speedway
Brent Strelka- Wisconsin International
Brian Gibson- Hawkeye Downs
Bryan Monday- Wisconsin International
Caleb Adrian- Hawkeye Downs
Casey Johnson- Jefferson Speedway/Big 8 Series
Chris Marek- Elko Speedway/2013 JMcK winner
Cole Anderson- State Park Speedway
Dale Nottestad- Madison International
Daryl Gerke- Rockford Speedway
David Cabelka- State Park Speedway
Dudley Fleck- Hawkeye Downs/ARTGO Star
Dylan Schuyler- Jefferson Speedway
Eddie Muenster- Wisconsin International
Gary Krueger- ARTGO Star
Gary Natrop- Wisconsin International
Griffin McGrath- Hawkeye Downs
J Herbst- 2012 Segment Winner
Jake Gille- Rockford Speedway
Jake Ryan- Elko Speedway
Jamie Farrell- Elko Speedway
Jason Schuler- 2011 JMcK Segment Winner/ARTGO Star
Jeff Nowak- State Park Speedway
Jeremy Miller- Madison International/Past Big 8 Champion
Jesse Bernhagen- Dells Raceway
Jim Duchow- Wisconsin International
Joe Neisius- Elko Speedway
Jon Lemke- Elko Speedway/ARTGO Star
Jon Reynolds Jr- Rockford Speedway/Big 8 Series
Justin Mondiek- State Park Speedway
Kevin Nuttleman- Over 100 career La Crosse wins
Kyle Shear- 2011 JMcK Winner
Lawrence Berthiume- Elko Speedway
Michael Beamish- 2014 JMcK Winner
Michael Bilderback- Rockford Speedway/Big 8 Series
Michael Gruenberg- Jefferson Speedway
Michael Ostdiek- Elko Speedway
Mike Carlson- LaCrosse Speedway
Mike Held- Slinger Speedway
Nick Nolden- Dells Raceway
Phil Malouf- State Park Speedway
Rich Schumann Jr- Dells Raceway
Rusty Hansen- Madison International
Ryan Zielski- Slinger Speedway
Shaun Scheel- Jefferson Speedway
Skylar Holzhausen- Past Big 8 ‘Fest Winner/2010 JMcK Winner
Stephen Scheel- Jefferson Speedway
Steve Carlson- La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway/ARTGO Star
Steve Dobbratz- Dells Raceway
Steve Rubeck- Past Big 8 ‘Fest Winner
Taylor Vandermoss- Wisconsin International
Tim Plummer- Hawkeye Downs
Todd Korish- La Crosse Speedway/Past Big 8 ‘Fest Winner
Ty Majeski- LaCrosse Speedway
Wayne Freimund- Past J McK segment winner
Zach Riddle- Past Big 8 ‘Fest Winner/2012 JMcK Winner

To Enter this event or for eligibility questions please contact Gregg McKarns at 815-703-0285