By: Kevin Ramsell and Aspen Andre (West Salem, WI – October 9, 2016)

Ty Majeski had one goal going into the 47th Annual Oktoberfest Race Weekend that was to win the ARCA Midwest Tour’s Oktoberfest 200 and the JMcK 63 on the final day. Not only for himself, but for his crew chief Toby Nuttleman.

That dream was accomplished on Sunday afternoon after he held off Dan Fredrickson and Johnny Sauter for the emotional victory.

Majeski took the lead from the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series driver on lap 116 and had to survive a restart with two laps to go after Cole Anderson, Casey Johnson and Nick Barstad tangled in turn four.

The defending two-time ARCA Midwest Tour champion was able to get away from Fredrickson on the final restart to get the checkered flag.

“This is surreal right now, especially with all of the emotions of Toby wanting this win for so long,” Majeski said in victory lane. “Leading this race with ten laps to go, we went down a cylinder. Must have been a plug wire or something, it would go away and come back then go away and come back. Once the caution came out, I thought we were done. I was just doing everything I could to get a good restart.”

As soon as Majeski exited his car, he immediately ran over to Nuttleman to celebrate a victory that Nuttleman has had missing on his impressive resume as a crew chief.

“Toby has been trying for this for so many years now,” Majeski explained. “I think we had the car to beat in 2014, but we wrecked in a heat race. Last year, I thought we had it won until a caution came out and we had a vapor lock. Finally, it worked out this year, and it feels good.”

For Toby Nuttleman, he can scratch this one off of his bucket list.

“It’s an incredible feeling, I am usually not this emotional, I don’t know what to say,” Nuttleman said. “Ty did an incredible job, like he always does. I just can’t thank everyone on the team for everything they have done. It’s an incredible day. Probably the best day of my life since my kids were born. I may sleep for a week now.”

Fredrickson was hoping to get his fifth Oktoberfest 200 win and tie Joe Shear in the record books.

“Something broke in the rear end and was putting grease down on the racetrack and I was sliding around in my own oil,” Fredrickson said. “I am not happy with the runner up trophy, but the car was handling excellent. I pitted early because I wanted the car to be perfect and drove back through the field. I don’t know what happened with the rear end.”

Sauter, who led many laps in the early going was third. Andrew Morrissey finished fourth and Chris Weinkauf rounded out the top five.
Majeski also became the first three-time ARCA Midwest Tour champion.

Griffin McGrath won the last chance race with Jonathan Eilen in second and Jason Weinkauf third. Bradley Tilton was fourth and Paul Shafer Jr. was fifth. Tim Sauter was sixth. Those six advanced to the main event.

Matt Kocourek and Jeff Holtz were the provisionals.

Majeski kept his successful weekend going by dominating the JMcK 63 for the Big 8 Late Models.

Majeski took the lead at the drop of the green flag for segment one of the JMcK 63. It was an easy Sunday afternoon drive in the first 21-lap segment as he held off Mike Ehde and J Herbst.

In victory lane, Majeski drew a five for a 13-car invert for the second segment.

Majeski would almost start shotgun on the field in the second 21-lap segment. By lap five, he was already to the seventh spot while Brett Edmunds led up front. Herbst also started near the back and was up to second by lap nine, Majeski wasn’t far behind. The caution flew on lap 11 when Harley Jankowski spun on the backstretch near Majeski. On the restart, Herbst gets by Edmunds for the lead on lap 11 with Majeski right behind him. Majeski would get to the inside of Herbst for the lead going into turn one on lap 12, and pull away to win the second segment.
Majeski would draw for a 12-car invert in the final segment.

In the final segment, Majeski was just focused on one thing, become the first driver to win all three segments of the JMcK 63. He started 12th and it took him only 16 laps to take the lead from Tim Springstroh and drive away to winning the event in honor of the late promoter John McKarns.

Herbst was second overall with Brad Powell third.

Woody Poole held off a late race challenge from Rex Rossier to win the Vintage car 20-lap feature. Poole got around Rossier with about seven laps to go, and kept the gap from him and Rossier far enough back to earn the win.

The 48th Annual Oktoberfest Race Weekend is scheduled for October 5, 6, 7, 8 2017. Start making your plans to join a fun weekend of racing.
For more information please call the Speedway office at (608) 786-1525 or visit lacrossespeedway.com.

La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway is a proud NASCAR Home track, part of the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series – www.hometracks.nascar.com.

ARCA Midwest Tour
Oktoberfest 200 Feature (28 Cars) — 1. Ty Majeski, Seymour 2. Dan Fredrickson, Lakeville, MN 3. Johnny Sauter, Necedah 4. Andrew Morrissey, DeForest 5. Chris Weinkauf, Merrill 6. Dalton Zehr, Port Orange, FL 7. Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids, IA 8. Travis Sauter, Necedah 9. Nick Murgic, Rosemount, MN 10. Paul Shafer Jr., Portage, IN 11. Tim Sauter, Necedah 12. Jacob Goede, Carver, MN 13. Austin Nason, Roscoe, IL 14. Cole Anderson, Northfield, MN 15. Jason Weinkauf, Merrill 16. Casey Johnson, Edgerton 17. Bradley Tilton, Cheyanne, WY 18. Jonathan Eilen, Hampton, MN 19. Matt Kocourek, Franklin 20. Nick Barstad, Prior Lake, MN 21. Jim Sauter Jr., Necedah 22. Andy Jones, Gurnee, IL 23. Skylar Holzhausen, Bangor 24. Dennis Prunty, Lomira 25. Derek Kraus, Stratford 26. Ricky Baker, Plainfield, IL 27. Travis Kvapil, Mooresville, NC 28. Jeff Holtz, Franksville
Last Chance Race — 1. Griffin McGrath 2. Jonathan Eilen 3. Jason Weinkauf 4. Bradley Tilton 5. Paul Shafer Jr. 6. Tim Sauter 7. Dean La Point 8. John DeAngleis Jr. 9. Matt Kocourek 10. Natalie Decker 11. Jerry Brickner 12. Justin Oertel 13. Jeremy Spoonmore 14. Jeff Holtz

JMck Big-8 Invitational
JMck 63 Big-8 Invitational (15 Cars) — 1. Ty Majeski, Seymour 2. J. Herbst, La Crosse 3. Brad Powell, La Crosse 4. Brody Willett, Alburnett, IA 5. Ryan Kamish, Farmington, MN 6. Timmy Springstock, DePere 7. Jesse Bernhagen, Markesan 8. Brent Edmunds, Monticello 9. Michael Ostdiek, Lakeville, MN 10. Brett Wenzel, Manotiwoc 11. Todd Kamish, Lakeville, MN 12. Shayne Poehnelt, Spring Green 13. Grant Griesbach, Waukesha 14. Karley Jankowski, Sparta 15. Gary Krueger, New Lisbon

Vintage Cars
Oktoberfest 15 Feature (21 Cars) — 1. Woody Pool, Timely Park, IL 2. Rex Rossier, Plover 3. Jerry Schneider, Menasha 4. Ken Lewis, Black River Falls 5. Ken Hutchens, Black River Falls 6. Dan Naverstad, La Crosse 7. Bill Martin, Madison 8. Paul Gilbertson, La Crescent, MN 9. John Gilbertson, Onalaska 10. Ron DeMars, Black River Falls 11. Roger Peterson, Canton, MI 12. John Meyer, Holmen 13. Jim Olson, Hixton 14. Chuck Adams, Sparta 15. Bob Lee, Holmen 16. Tom Collins, Lake Mills 17. Scott Moldenhauer, Black River Falls 18. Andy Barney, West Salem 19. Royce Rossier, Plover Jason Bolster, Sparta 21. Paul Dolphy, Mounds View, MN