Majeski Starts Oktoberfest with Two Feature Wins

The 49th Annual Oktoberfest Race Weekend at the La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway in West Salem, Wisconsin kicked off with nine divisions in action on Thursday night. NASCAR XFINITY Series driver Ty Majeski returned to the four-day event and started it off by capturing two feature victories in The Futures Super Late Model and La Crosse Late Model events.

Majeski started off his Oktoberfest Race Weekend by capturing the 40-lap Tobacco Outlet Plus La Crosse Late Model feature event. Majeski started 12th and only needed 11 laps to get ot the top spot as he passed Ty Reedy for the lead. Steve Carlson tried to chase down Majeski in the closing laps, but Majeski was just too strong as he easily drove to the win. Carlson finished second and captured another track championship at La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway. Nick Panitzke, who came into the night only four points back of Carlson, finished third and claimed his second straight Chase Championship.

Majeski and Casey Johnson put on a show for the fans in the 25-lap Futures race. Johnson was the early leader until the caution flew with three laps to go when Andy Jones, Gabe Sommers and Alex Stumpf were caught up in a wreck on the backstretch. On the restart, Tim Springstroh and Ryan Hinner got together coming off of turn two for another caution. Johnson and Majeski were side-by-side on the restart with Johnson getting a jump out of turn two. On the last lap, Majeski got to the inside of Johnson coming off of turn two and took the lead off of turn four to win his second feature of the night. Johnson and Austin Nason failed post-race inspection.

Rick Schermerhorn took the top honors in the Dean’s Satellite Sportsmen 20-lap feature event. Eric Campbell had a big lead going until the only caution flew on lap 13 when Brad Warthan spun in turn two. On the restart, Campbell held off Jason Thoma for the lead but Schermerhorn was right behind Campbell and took over the top spot with five laps to go and then drove off to the win. Steve Bachman wins the 2018 championship, while Chris Weber won the Chase Championship.

Kaleb Hardy took the lead on lap eight from Jacinda Pfaff and drove away to win the Auto Value Thunderstox 20-lap feature. Mark Challet took home the 2018 track championship.

Matt Moore dominated the night in the Auto Value Street Stocks. Moore took over the top spot from Skylar Pozanc on lap 11 and would hold off a late battle from Tristan Drazkowski to win the 20-lap feature event. The victory also secured the 2018 championship for Moore. Pozanc finished third.

Kristopher Berg took the lead from 15-year-old Jaydin Schock on lap 11 to capture the ANTS Complete Pest Control Hornets 20-lap feature event. Schock, who is completing her rookie season finished a strong second with Jimmy Bjorkman in third. Brandon Lemoine’s strategy of starting at the rear paid off as he claimed the season championship.

Scott Schlafke and Justin Schelitzche gave the fans a great show in the 20-lap Bandit feature. Schlafke had a big lead but Schelitzche was able to close in and put on a great battle for the lead all the way to the checkered flag with Schlafke going to victory lane.

Cory Kemkes owned the night in the Outlawz division. Not only did he set a new track record in qualifying, but he also dominated the 20-lap feature event as he took the lead over Glenn Bush Jr. on lap nine. Kemkes had an easy Thursday night drive to the victory.

The first night was capped off with the famous Double-O 12-lap feature event where Phil Malouf got off to a great start and would lead wire-to-wire in the unique race that used both of the Speedway’s ovals.

Day two of the 49th Annual Oktoberfest Race Weekend will get underway on Friday with three divisions in action starting with qualifying at 3:25pm. The Super Late Models will be in action with the Dick Trickle 99 presented by JE Pistons. The Great Northern Sportsmen Series will have a 25-lap feature and the Midwest Truck Series will also have a 25-lap feature event. Racing will get underway at 5:30pm.

Super Late Model ‘Futures’–1. Ty Majeski, 2. Michael Sauter, 3. Bryan Syer-Keske
Hooligan Race–1. Corey Jankowski, 2. Ryan Hinner, 3. Justin Mondeik
Qualifying–1. Ty Majeski (New Track Record–18.574)

Tobacco Outlet Plus Grocery Late Models–1. Ty Majeski, 2. Steve Carlson, 3. Nick Panitzke
B-Feature–1. Tom Carlson, 2. Todd Oliver, 3. Carter Christenson
Qualifying–1. Ty Majeski, 19.742

Dean’s Satellite Sportsmen–1. Rick Schermerhorn, 2. Tyler Sauter, 3. Eric Campbell
Qualifying–1. Randy Humfeld, 21.451

Auto Value Thunderstox–1. Kaleb Hardy, 2. Mike Krueger, 3. Bill Schott
Qualifying–1. Bill Schott, 16.274

ANT’s Complete Pest Control Hornets–1. Kris Berg, 2. Jayden Schock, 3. Jimmy Bjorkman
B-Feature–1. Shawn McCarthy, 2. Luke Geisler, 3. Jack Litsheim

Auto Value Street Stocks–1. Matt Moore, 2. Tristan Drazkowski, 3. Skylar Pozanc

Bandits–1. Scott Schlafke, 2. Justin Schelitzche, 3. Lyle Phillips
Qualifying–1. Nick Schmitz, 16.544

Outlaws–1. Cory Kemkes, 2. Dave Edwards, 3. Rick Bruskiewicz
Qualifying–1. Cory Kemkes (New Track Record–13.814)

Double O–1. Phil Malouf, 2. Mark Bornitz, 3. Dave Edwards