By: Paul Reichert
October 4, 2019

As the Oktoberfest Race Weekend continues on at the LaCrosse Speedway, the racing action gets more intense and competitive. With this year being the 50th edition, the drivers are more detemined to claim a victory at Wisconsin’s biggest racing happening. The highlight of Friday night’s show was the annual Dick Trickle 99 race. When Ty Majeski suffered a mechanical issue midway through the final segment, that left the door wide open for the overall win. Thanks to a higher finish in the final segment, Nick Murgic would capture his first Dick Trickle 99 title.

The 13th annual Dick Trickle 99 was action packed from start to finish. Dan Fredrickson (Lakeville, MN) led the opening lap of the first segment, then Ty Majeski (Seymour, WI) powered by Fredrickson for the top spot. Majeski would pull away from Fredrickson and Carson Kvapil (Mooresville, NC) to take the first segment. A tough 15th place finish put Casey Johnson (Edgerton, WI) on the pole for segment two. Johnson powered by Michael Sauter (West Salem, WI) to take the lead at the start. While Johnson drove away the win, there was a spirited battle for second between Billy Mohn (Elko, MN) and Jacob Goede (Carver, MN). Mohn would get the better of that battle to take the runner-up spot. That set up the showdown in the final segment. Derek Kraus (Startford, WI) took the lead early in the final segment. Jonathan Eilen (Hampton, MN) would catch the NASCAR K&N Pro West leader and take the race lead on lap nine. Ty Majeski was making his charge to the front when a shower of sparks came from the car. A possible suspension issue ended his race. While Eilen drove away with the win, Nick Murgic (Rosemount, MN) and Dan Fredrickson found themselves in a tie for the overall win. Thanks to his fifth place finish, Murgic would claim the cheese trophy.

Sam Niles and Tyler Sauter battled side-by-side in the early going of the Area Sportsmen feature. Niles finally surged ahead of Sauter to assume the top spot on lap four. Their battle over the race lead was not over, despite yellow flags for a David Borntrager spin and a toasted motor for Brad Warthan. NIles and Sauter made contact down the back straight on the restart, allowing Sauter to motor by Niles to become the new leader. Despite losing the lead, Niles stayed close to Sauter for several laps until the yellow flag at halfway. LaCrosse Sportsmen champion Chris Weber and Brian Hesselberg made contact and spun down the back straight. A new challenger entered the fray on the restart as Dustin Mann began to flex his muscles. Mann shot past Niles for second with ten laps to go and began to slowly reel in Sauter. Mann caught and drove around Sauter on the outside with six to go to capture an Oktoberfest checkered flag.

The Midwest Truck Series feature started with a great battle for the lead between Jason Stark and Jerry Brickner. They ran side-by-side for the first few laps before Brickner shot past Stark to take control of the race. Stark was doing everything he could to stay with Brickner, but the Wausau driver was slowly pulling away from the field. Stark would have to contend with former series champ James Swan in the middle stages of the race. Swan got around Stark on lap 14 to move into second. Meanwhile, point leader Levon Van der Geest made his way to the front from the middle of the pack. Van der Geest would catch Stark and pass him on the outside to move into third with five laps to go. Back up front, Brickner was far and away the class of the field as he scored his second Midwest Truck Series win of the season.

The Oktoberfest Race Weekend action continues Saturday, October 5 with the final races of the year for the Big 8 Late Model Series, the Mid-American Stock Car Series and the Midwest Dash Series. The ARCA Midwest Tour will run their preliminary events to set the majority of the field for Sunday’s big 200-lap main event. Gates open at 2:20, qualifying starts at 2:25 and racing begins at 5.

For more information about the LaCrosse Speedway, the 2019 schedule of events or the Oktoberfest Race Weekend, please call the office at 608-786-1525 or visit either or LaCrosse Speedway is proud to be a NASCAR Hometrack, part of the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series.

Dick Trickle 99
Segment 1: 1. Ty Majeski, 2. Dan Fredrickson, 3. Carson Kvapil, 4. Skylar Holzhausen, 5. Gabe Sommers
Segment 2: 1. Casey Johnson, 2. Billy Mohn, 3. Jacob Goede, 4. Andrew Morrissey, 5. Erik Darnell
Segment 3: 1. Johathan Eilen, 2. Sommers, 3. Kvapil, 4. Derek Kraus, 5. Nick Murgic
Overall: 1. Nick Murgic (19), 2. Dan Fredrickson (19), 3. Carson Kvapil (20), 4. Jacob Goede (21), 5. Erik Darnell (21), 6. Jonathan Eilen (22), 7. Casey Johnson (23), 8. Andrew Morrissey (23), 9. Gabe Sommers (24), 10. Skylar Holzhausen (29), 11. Billy Mohn (29), 12. Derek Kraus (30), 13. Ty Majeski (31), 14. Austin Nason (34), 15. John DeAngelis, Jr. (43), 16. Michael Ostdiek (46), 17. Michael Sauter (48), 18. Nick Barstad (51), 19. Justin Mondiek (56), 20. Jason Weinkauf (58), 21. Rich Schumann, Jr. (58), 22. Matt Henderson (61), 23. Bryan Syer-Keske (65), 24. Griffin McGrath (69)
Stubby Feature: 1. Michael Bilderback, 2. Rich Bickle, Jr., 3. Tim Springstroh, 4. Luke Fenhaus, 5. Dean Cornelius
C-Feature: 1. Nick Clements, 2. Gregory Borchardt, 3. Steve Bachman, 4. MIke Ehde, 5. Harley Jankowski
Last Chance Race 1: 1. Sauter, 2. Mondiek, 3. Bilderback
Last Chance Race 2: 1. John DeAngelis, Jr., 2. Bryan Syer-Keske, 3. Dillon Hammond
Last Chance Race 3: 1. Johnson, 2. McGrath, 3. Tim Springstroh
Qualiyfing: 1. Fredrickson, 2. Majeski, 3. Kvapil

Area Sportsmen
Feature: 1. Dustin Mann, 2. Tyler Sauter, 3. Eric Campbell, 4. Tom Luethe, 5. Sam Niles
Odd Dash: 1. Sauter, 2. Brain Hesselberg, 3. Devin Schmidt
Even Dash: 1. Niles, 2. Mann, 3. Dillon Sellner
Qualifying Heat: 1. Taylor Dawson, 2. Chris Skrede, 3. Henry Vian
Qualifying: 1. Chris Weber, 2. Luethe, 3. Dan Gilster

E3 Spark Plugs Midwest Truck Series
Feature: 1. Jerry Brickner, 2. James Swan, 3. Levon Van der Geest, 4. Jason Stark, 5. John Ovadal, Jr.
Heat 1: 1. Kenny Joosten, 2. Jeremy Lepak, 3. Bryce Miller
Heat 2: 1. Swan, 2. Kevin Knuese, 3. Ovadal, Jr.
Qualifying: 1. Van der Geest (19.949–New Track Record), 2. Joe Valento, 3. Chester Ace