Championships Up for Grabs During Thursday’s Wisconsin Lottery Oktoberfest Opening Night

West Salem, WI- Oktoberfest Opening Night, Thursday October 8, 2020 will feature seven racing divisions and eight feature events to kick off the 51st annual Oktoberfest Race Weekend at LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway.  Highlighted by Championship battles in five divisions and the first two of four NASCAR Kwik Trip Late Model features, Wisconsin Lottery Opening Night provides a unique mix of action for race fans from across the region.

A pair of 20 lap Kwik Trip Late Model features will take center stage as the weekly warriors of LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway battle over two nights and four features to determine their Champion.  Currently Nick Murgic leads over seven-time NASCAR Late Model Champion and recent feature winners Billy Mohn, Steve Bachman, Brent Kirchner and Mike Carlson.

The Super Late Models will contest The Futures 25 lap feature event as well as the popular non-qualifiers Hooligan Race during Opening Night.  This event is open to any Super Late Model driver under the age of 30 that has not finished in the top three of ARCA Midwest Tour point standings as well as anyone over the age of 30 that has not competed in the Oktoberfest Main Event or in NASCAR’s top three divisions. 

Another weekly LaCrosse division that will crown their Champion on Thursday night is the LawnKeepers Sportsmen.  New for this season, a 22.000 lap time has been established for the division on the 5/8 mile paved oval.  Currently Dave Edwards holds the point lead over Mark Chalet and Sam Niles. 

A pair of close Championship point battles will be settled on the quarter mile.  Auto Value Hobby Stocks point leader Brandon Gallagher holds a narrow 20 point advantage over Jason Bolster headed into their finale.  Likewise, Jimmy Bjorkman finds himself just fifteen points ahead of Cheyanne Stanfield in the ANTS Pest Control Hornets season long points chase. 

Thursday Night is also Championship Night for the Auto Value Street Stocks, Matt Moore holds a commanding lead over Chris Larson and last year Fest winner Dan Frye in the popular six cylinder division.  Rounding out the night will be the one of a kind, Double-O race, consisting of six laps on the big and six laps on the small track with cars from all divisions racing at once, on two tracks.

Once the Champions have been crowned, everyone is invited to the Exhibition Hall for the 2020 LaCrosse Track Champions Reception with Music, Beverages and Fun.



A total of 17 divisions of racing action will make up the 51st Oktoberfest Race Weekend October 8-11, 2020.  For additional information including Schedules, Rules, Camper Village information, Registration and more, visit or call 608-786-1525.

Single Day Grandstand Tickets
Adults: $22
Student (12-17) $10
Kids (ages 6-11) $6
Children (ages 5 and under) FREE
Turn 1 Reserved Grandstand Seating $22 per ticket

Multi-Day General Admission Wristbands
4 Day (Thur-Sun) $90
2 Day (Thur/Fri) $40

Pit Pass Admission
5 Day (Wed-Sun) $115
4 Day (Thur-Sun) $115
2 Day (Thur-Fri) $50
Thursday Single Day $30

Thursday Division                            2019 Oktoberfest Winner

The Futures                                        Derek Kraus

LaCrosse Late Models                    Ty Majeski

LaCrosse Sportsmen                       Chris Weber

Hobby Stocks                                     Adam Moore

Hornets                                                Troy Tuma

6 Cylinder Street Stocks                 Dan Frye

Double-O                                            Corey Jankowski

Thursday October 8 Schedule of Events (Subject to Change)

8:00 • REGISTRATION OPENS (At Fairgrounds Exhibition Building) 

8:00 • PITS OPEN

9:00 • DRIVERS’ MEETING (at Scales) 

9:30 • OPEN PRACTICE STARTS (No 1/4 Mile Practice until 2:05)

12:00 • CORNHOLE TOURNAMENT (Big Red Barn)   

1:20 • OPEN PRACTICE ENDS (For all teams that are NOT Racing on Thursday Night)



2:45 • QUALIFYING (Lax LM, Futures SLM), LAX Sportsmen)

4:45 • 1/4 Mi QUALIFYING (Hobbys, Hornets, 6-Cyl/Street)


LaCrosse LM Semi-Feature (T) (15 laps)

Street Stocks B-Feature Feature (T) (10 laps)

Hornet B-Feature Feature (T) (10 laps)

Hobby Stocks Oktoberfest Feature (20 laps)

Street Stocks Oktoberfest Feature (20 laps)

Hornet Oktoberfest Feature (20 laps)

LaCrosse LM Oktoberfest Feature 1 (20 laps) 

SLM Futures Hooligan Race (T) (15 laps)

La Crosse Sportsmen Feature (20 laps)

La Crosse Late Models Feature 2 (20 laps) 

SLM The Futures Feature (25 laps) 

Double-O Feature (6 laps on each Track) 

10:00 • 2020 LaCrosse Divisions Track Champions Reception (At Fair Exhibition Bldg)